Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

Today’s top ten topic is forgotten backlist titles to help show some love to books that aren’t spoken about as much anymore.

Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes is the first in her Queen of Hearts Saga and was published in February 2014. It also happens to be the first book by Colleen Oakes I ever read, and not only did I fall in love with the series, but I fell in love with Oakes’s writing and have gone on to read many of her other works.

Contagion by Erin Bowman was first published in July 2018 and is the first in her Contagion duology. I don’t remember how I first came across Bowman’s sci-fi/horror book, but it quickly became a favorite. I devoured it in one sitting and reread it on more than one occasion since my first reading. If you love your science fiction with horror being a strong part of its storyline, then you definitely need to check this one out. While you’re at it, be sure to also listen to the Spotify playlist Bowman put together to accompany the book.

The Call by Peadar O’Guilin is a fantasy horror that was first released in August 2016. This was another book that I devoured. From the moment I began the book, I found I couldn’t stop thinking about it when I wasn’t actively reading it, so much so that I woke up at 2 in the morning to finish it as I just needed to know what happened next. Definitely check this one out.

A Blade So Black by L. L. McKinney is the first in McKinney’s Nightmare-Verse trilogy and was first published in September 2018. As a long time lover of all things Alice in Wonderland I loved this YA Urban Fantasy mix of Alice in Wonderland meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer. After what feels like a lifetime of waiting, the third and final book, A Crown So Cursed will be releasing in September of this year and I could not be more excited. I plan on doing a reread of the first two books in preparation for what I’m sure will be an amazing finale.

Kingston and the Magician’s Lost and Found by Rucker Moses and Theo Gangi came out in February 2021 and was a book I had the pleasure of reading and reviewing as a part of a book tour I was on for the book, hosted by Turn the Page Tours. If you want to know why I enjoyed the book so much and will be sharing with my nephew one day, be sure to check out my review, linked above.

Songs of Autumn by Lauren Sevier was released in November 2020 and was such an enjoyment to read that I immediately began following Lauren on her various social media accounts and since then I have not only gone on to read and love her The Fool’s Adventures Series that she co-wrote with her friend Abbie Lynn Smith, but I’ve even become friends with the two of them. Be sure to click the linked book above to read my review for this wonderful debut.

Farah Oomerbhoy’s The Last of the Firedrakes is the first in The Avalonia Chronicles trilogy and was first published in August 2015. I received an advanced e-arc of this book and between the gorgeous cover art and beautiful writing I couldn’t help but rave about it to my best friend to the point that she also bought the book and loved it.

Furyborn by Claire Legrand is the first in Legrand’s Empirium trilogy and was first released in April 2018. While I had read other books by Legrand, I didn’t get around to reading Furyborn until 2020 during lockdown as a part of the Sourcebooks readalong that they hosted on their Instgram platform. Not only did I love the readalong, but I loved this book and the entire series as a whole; plus, this was the first series in a while that I read straight through.

An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson was originally released in September 2017. This was an amazing debut that I loved as it got me out of a reading slump to the point that I read it in one sitting. Upon completing this one, I immediately added Rogerson to my list of autobuy authors as I love her writing style and strong female characters.

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter, released in September 2016, and was one of the first books I received in the former Uppercase subscription box. I absolutely loved this retelling of the Russian folktale, Vassilissa the Beautiful both because it was a wonderful and modern retelling, and also because it made me want to go back and read the original folktale, along with other Russian folktales.

Have you read any of these backlist titles? Has my list inspired you to check out of these books for yourself? What are some backlist titles you wish received more love and attention?